Please Wait....

    Women's World Cup 2019: Teams, fixtures, dates & everything you need to know

    Goal brings you everything you need to know ahead of the Women's World Cup to take place in France next year

    Just a year after the 2018 edition of the men's World Cup final in Russia, the Women's World Cup 2019 is raring and ready to go and will start on June 7, 2019 and end on July 7, 2019 .

    Taking place in France – the first time the country has hosted the tournament and the third time Europe will have done so – next summer's competition will see 24 countries compete for the highest football honour.

    Defending champions, the U.S. women's national team are still a strong side and will no doubt be aiming to lift a record fourth World Cup, just a year after the U.S. men's national team were unable to even qualify for the World Cup in Russia.

    The qualification process for the Women's World Cup in 2019 was completed in early December, with all 24 participants having been confirmed. The draw for the group stage will take place in Paris on Friday, December 7 .

    Here is everything you need to know ahead of next summer's competition.

    Women's World Cup 2019 host cities

    In 2019, the Women's World Cup will be held in 10 different venues across nine different cities in France, who won the right to host the tournament in March 2015. As hosts, France's national team have automatically qualified for the competition.

    Of the 10 venues, seven will stage at least three group stage games. The breakdown of venues and games can be seen in the table below.

    Group stage & Round of 16 Paris
    Group stage & Round of 16 Reims
    Group stage & Round of 16 Grenoble
    Group stage & Round of 16 Rennes
    Group stage & Round of 16 Rennes
    Group stage & Round of 16 Valenciennes
    Group stage & Round of 16 Montpellier
    Group stage & Round of 16 & third place Nice
    Group stage & Round of 16 & Quarter-final Le Havre
    Parc Olympique Lyonnais

    Where is the Women's World Cup 2020 final?

    The final of the 2019 Women's World Cup will be held at the Parc Olympique Lyonnais, also know as Groupama Stadium, in Lyon on July 7, 2019. The stadium is France's largest-capacity venue and will be able to hold 59,186 fans.

    The venue is the home of Ligue 1 side Lyon and also hosted the 2018 Europa League final, which was won by Atletico Madrid.

    The stadium was freshly built in 2013 to replace Lyon's former home of Stade de Gerland and also hosted the 2017 Coupe de la Ligue Final – which marked the first time that the event took place outside of Paris.

    Lyon's home ground will be one of nine venues hosting the World Cup matches and will also host semi-final fixtures in addition to the final.

    It will also be one of the venues for the 2024 Summer Olympics.

    Women's World Cup 2019 format

    Next summer's edition of the Women's World Cup will feature 24 teams broken into six groups of four teams each. 

    The winner and runner-up of each group will automatically progress to the round of 16.

    The four third-place to accumulate the most points will also advance to the knockout stage along with the group winners and second-place finishers. 

    Women's World Cup 2019 participating teams

    FIFA confirmed the following slot allocation in October 2016.

    AFC (Asia): 5 slots

    CONCACAF (North, Central America and Caribbean) : 3 slots
    CONMEBOL (South America): 2 slots
    OFC (Oceania): 1 slot

    *FIFA rankings correct only as of September 2018.

    Women's World Cup 2019 tickets

    With the tournament taking place next summer, FIFA have not yet released official details on how fans can purchase tickets, but fans can sign up here to receive the information as soon as it is announced.

    Further information on ticket sales for the Women’s World Cup will be made available on .

    Who are the favourites to win the Women's World Cup 2019?

    Defending champions United States are expected to go far in France once again, having won the competition three times. 

    Experienced stars such as Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe and Tobin Heath are expected to guide the team to a potential fourth World Cup win. There will be an opportunity to introduce younger talent into the side as the country will look to prepare for the future following Hope Solo's retirement and what could be Carli Lloyd's final international tournament as she turns 37 two days after the 2019 final.

    Meanwhile, Les Bleues will be expected to pick up on the momentum left behind by the men's French team, with the host nation eyeing the highest honour in football by winning the tournament on home turf.

    The French team's best finish on the world stage was fourth place in the 2011 edition and the side have never progressed past the quarter-final stage of the European Championships.

    Germany won gold in the 2016 Rio Oympics but tasted to defeat to the United States in the 2015 semi-finals. They will be looking to bounce back after crashing out of the 2017 Euros in the quarter-finals, despite struggling in the 2018 SheBelieves Cup after losing to France and the U.S.

    Japan are one of the most consistent sides in football and were World Cup winners in 2011 and runners-up in 2015. They will be eager to seek revenge on the USWNT, with the two sides having met in the last two finals. 

    England are arguably a strong contender to go far in France in 2019. Despite going out of the 2015 tournament through a devastating last-minute own goal in the semis the side were still able to finish third after beating Germany. 

    FC Barcelona and Netherlands star Lieke Martens is expected to push her nation far in the World Cup next summer, while recent Ballon d'Or winner Ada Hegerberg is also expected to make waves for Norway in France.

    Story Page