Please Wait....

    Late Ebony Reigns Wins Big At The Vodafone Ghana Music Awards Including ‘Album Of The Year’

    Late afro-dancehall singer Ebony Reigns was one of the biggest winners at the just concluded 2018 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA), snagging 4 accolades along with rapper Sarkodie who also won four awards.

    The ceremony which was held at the Accra International Conference Centre on Saturday, April 14, 2018, saw Sarkodie win Rapper of The Year for the 5th time in his career while Ebony Reigns was posthumously crowned Artiste of The Year.

    Davido was also awarded African Artiste of the Year in an event which saw thrilling performances from the likes of Sarkodie, Samini, King Promise, Stonebwoy, Tiwa Savage and Nasty C.

    Read: Davido, Olamide, Simi, And Wizkid Lead The Headies Award 2018 Edition Nominees List

    See full list of winners.

    Artiste of the Year

    Ebony (Winner)

    Joe Mettle

    Shatta Wale



    Unsung Category

    Kelvyn Boy (WINNER)

    Dope Nation

    Dhat Gyal


    Real MC


    Gospel of the Year

    Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle (Winner)

    Boot for Boot – Joyce Blessing

    Obi Nyanime – Patience Nyarko

    Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle

    Efatawo – Nacee

    Adom – Gifty Osei

    Jehovah – Ceccy Twum

    Hip-hop  Song of the Year

    Grind Day Remix – Kwesi Arthur (Winner)

    State of the Art – Teephlow

    Light it up – Sarkodie

    Pen and Paper – Ko-jo Cue & Shaker

    Dear God – B4bonah

    Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year

    My Own – Samini (Winner)

    Until the Dawn – Efya

    My Name – Stonebwoy

    Faya Burn Dem – Article Wan

    Rewind – Mzvee

    Dem Confuse – Shatta Wale

    Highlife Song of the Year

    Odo – Kidi (Winner)

    Dream – Kumi Guitar

    Bronya – Wutah

    Angela – Kuami Eugene

    Ladder – Lil Win

    Over – R2bees

    Hustle – Ebony

    Hiplife Artiste of the Year

    Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam Ft. Sarkodie (Winner)

    Boys Boys – Nancee Ft. Guru

    Pain Killer – Sarkodie Ft. Runtown

    Obi Agyi obi Girl- Captain Planet

    Ayoo – Shatta Wale

    One Corner – Patapaa Ft. Ras Cann

    Afro-pop Song of the Year

    Sponsor – Ebony (Winner)

    Makoma – Adina

    Oh Yeah – King Promise

    Say You Love Me – Kidi

    Sing My Name – Mzvee

    Jennifer Lomotey – Kurl Songx

    My Baby – Magnon

    Come From Afar – Stonebwoy

    Gospel  Artiste of the Year

    Joe Mettle (Winner)

    Patience Nyarko

    Joyce Blessing

    Celestine Donkor

    Gifty Osei


    Highlife Artiste of the Year

    Kuami Eugene (Winner)




    Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year

    Stonebwoy (Winner)



    Shatta Wale

    Songwriter of the Year

    Bullet – Maame Hwe (Winner)

    Kumi Guitar – Dream

    Joe Mettle- Bo Noo Ni

    Kofi Kinaata – Last Show

    Samini – My own

    Stonebwoy – My Name

    Record of the Year

    Teephlow – State of the Art (Winner)

    Kumi Guitar – Dream

    Samini – My own

    Sarkodie – Glory

    Best Music Video of the Year

    Captain Planet – Obi Agyi Obi (Directed by Phamous Films) (Winner)

    Kumi Guitar- Dream (Directed by Abass)

    King Promise – Selfish ( Directed by Vertex)

    B4bonah – My Girl (Directed by Nicol-Sey)

    Opanka – Wedding Car (Directed by Bra Shizzle)

    Lil Shaker & Ko-jo-Cue – Pen & Paper (Directed by Ekumodzi)

    Hiplife/Hip-hop artiste of the Year

    Sarkodie (Winner)

    Yaa pono


    Captain Planet

    Kwesi Arthur


    Best Male Vocalist of the Year

    Joe Mettle – Bo Noo Ni (Winner)

    King Promise – Selfish

    Kidi – Odo

    Kuami Eugene – Angela

    Mugeez – Over

    Samini – My own.

    Best Female Vocalist of the Year

    Adina – Makoma (Winner)

    Nana Yaa – Don’t leave alone

    Efya – Love

    Mzvee – Bright light

    Becca – Summye (Pillow)

    Best Group of the Year

    Wutah (Winner)



    Best Rapper of the Year

    Sarkodie – Light it up (Winner)

    Eno Barony – Fear no man

    Teephlow – Phlowducation

    Lil Shaker – Pen & Paper

    Ko-Jo Cue – Pen & Paper

    Strongman – Transformer

    Best collaboration of the Year

    Shatta Wale Ft. SM Militants – Taking Over

    Joe Mettle Ft. Luigi Maclean – Bo noo ni

    MzVee Ft. Patoranking – Sing my name remix

    Kurl Songx Ft. Sarkodie – Jennifer Lomotey

    Sarkodie Ft. Runtown – Pain Killer

    Captain Planet Ft. Kofi Kinaata – Obi Agyi Obi Girl

    Becca Ft. Patoranking – Na Wash

    Best African Artiste of the Year

    Davido (Winner)



    Cassper Nyovest

    Nasty C

    Tiwa Savage


    Best New Artiste of the year

    Kuami Eugene (Winner)

    King Promise

    Kurl Songx



    Kwesi Arthur


    Song of the Year

    Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam Ft. Sarkodie (Winner)

    Sponsor – Ebony

    Odo – Kidi

    Angela – Kuami Eugene

    Taking Over – Shatta Wale Ft. SM Millitants

    One Corner – Patapaa Ft. Rad Cann

    Bo Noo Nii – Joe Mettle Ft. Luigi Maclean

    Obi Agyi Obi Girl – Captain Planet Ft. Kofi Kinaata.

    My Baby – Magnom ft Joey B

    Oh Yeah – King Promise

    Pain Killer – Sarkodie feat. Runtown

    Album of the Year

    Bonified – Ebony (Winner)

    Epistles of Mama – Stonebwoy

    Daavi – MzVee

    Highest – Sarkodie

    The post Late Ebony Reigns Wins Big At The Vodafone Ghana Music Awards Including ‘Album Of The Year’ appeared first on Nigerian Celebrity News + Latest Entertainment News.

    Story Page