Please Wait....

    Imo 2019: Speaker, 18 Assembly Members Defect To Okorocha Sponsored AA

    SAN FRANCISCO, December 13, (THEWILL) – The Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Achi Ihim, and eighteen other members of the assembly from both the All Progressives Congress, APC and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Thursday formally defected to the Action Alliance, a party founded by Governor Rochas Okorocha through which he unsuccessfully ran for president some years back.

    There are 27 members in the Assembly.

    The Speaker read the notice of defection signed by the lawmakers during plenary on Thursday evening.

    The former PDP lawmakers are Ken Agbim, Bruno Ukoha and Mike Iheanatu, while the former APC lawmakers who joined AA are Ikechukwu Amuka, Authur Egwim, Uju Onwudiwe, Uche Ejiogu, Ngozi Obiefule, Lugard Osuji, Lloyd Chukwuemeka and Victor Onyewuchi.

    Others are Chinedu Offor, Kennedy Ibe, Lawman Duruji, Max Odunze, Henry Ezediaro, and Obinna Egu.

    Okorocha, who controls the party’s structure in the state has been at war with APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole because he blocked Uche Nwosu, his brother-in-law from clinching the APC governorship ticket. Nwosu has since defected to the AA and the governor has pledged to openly campaign for him. Okorocha however is still in the APC where he is a senatorial candidate.

    Story Page